Repository logo

In situ Detection of Cobaloxime Intermediates During Photocatalysis Using Hollow‐Core Photonic Crystal Fiber Microreactors

Published version

Change log


Gentleman, Alexander S  ORCID logo
Pinnell, Jonathan 
Eisenschmidt, Annika 
Antón‐García, Daniel  ORCID logo


jats:titleAbstract</jats:title>jats:pHollow‐core photonic crystal fibers (HC‐PCFs) provide a novel approach for in situ UV/Vis spectroscopy with enhanced detection sensitivity. Here, we demonstrate that longer optical path lengths than afforded by conventional cuvette‐based UV/Vis spectroscopy can be used to detect and identify the Cojats:supI</jats:sup> and Cojats:supII</jats:sup> states in hydrogen‐evolving cobaloxime catalysts, with spectral identification aided by comparison with DFT‐simulated spectra. Our findings show that there are two types of signals observed for these molecular catalysts; a transient signal and a steady‐state signal, with the former being assigned to the Cojats:supI</jats:sup> state and the latter being assigned to the Cojats:supII</jats:sup> state. These observations lend support to a unimolecular pathway, rather than a bimolecular pathway, for hydrogen evolution. This study highlights the utility of fiber‐based microreactors for understanding these and a much wider range of homogeneous photocatalytic systems in the future.</jats:p>


Funder: Isaac Newton Trust; Id:

Funder: Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholars Programme

Funder: Winton Programme for the Physics of Sustainability


34 Chemical Sciences, 3406 Physical Chemistry, 7 Affordable and Clean Energy

Journal Title

Angewandte Chemie

Conference Name

Journal ISSN


Volume Title


Leverhulme Trust (RPG-2018-256)
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EP/S022953/1)
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EP/M508007/1)
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EP/L015978/1)
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (1948662)
EPSRC (1948662)
T.G.E. acknowledges the support from the Winton Programme for the Physics of Sustainability and the Isaac Newton Trust. T.L. and E.R. acknowledge the Cambridge NanoDTC (EPSRC Grant EP/L015978/1 and EP/S022953). A. E. acknowledges the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina for a postdoctoral fellowship (LPDS 2018-04). J.P. acknowledges support from the Harding Distinguished Postgraduate Scholars Programme. D. A.-G. acknowledges support from an EPSRC PhD DTA studentship (EP/M508007/1). M.H.F. acknowledges support from the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. T.G.E, A.S.G., and E.R. acknowledge the Leverhulme Trust (Research Project Grant RPG-2018-256).